beer wars

If you watched the Super Bowl this weekend you might have see a new Budweiser commercial in the third quarter. This blog entry: http://www.thebeerbabe.com/2015/02/why-the-pro-macro-beer-budwesier-ad-is-so-dangerous/ does a terrific job of breaking down the ad and offering an opinion on it’s content. For an opinion from a former Coors ad-exec who unabashedly enjoys craft beer and thinks big beer shouldn’t die, check out: http://www.plzdontletbuddie.com/current-blog-articles/extra-budweiser-runs-a-real-beer-ad

My take? I’ve been interested in craft beer for about 5 years now. I love the differing taste of the variety of craft beer. I’ll never be mistaken for a ‘hipster’. I found the commercial disturbing on a number of levels. The ad tried to set up an ‘us’ versus ‘them’ via both drinkers versus sippers and product taste. I’m not sure if anyone will be swayed by that commercial. I know I won’t be changing my selections.

Leave a Reply

